Game Journal #3 – DAoC Alts Day

This is an experimental article feature that covers the games played and actions taken during a gaming day. This serves to highlight a list of progression and a forum for my thoughts on the daily encounters.

Other

Star Trek Online – Logged on to check out the new Fleet Starbase feature introduced with Season 6.

The Secret World – Logged on to do two repeatable quests in the PvP zone. The rewards are a healthy amount of experience and ability points.

Dark Age of Camelot

Today was spent creating a few alts on Dark Age of Camelot, trying to re-familiarise myself with the classes and playstyles.

This involved:

  • Levelling Heretic from 19 to 21.
  • Levelling Cleric from 1 to 11.
  • Levelling Paladin from 1 to 5.
  • Levelling Reaver from 1 to 6.
  • Levelling Shaman from 15 to 21.
  • Levelling Scout from 5 to 15.
  • Levelling Shadowblade from 1 to 10.
  • Levelling Infiltrator from 6 to 10. 

User Interface

Due to the amount of alts I have created I have streamlined my UI layout.

I have been using BobsUI,  tips on installing and customing it.

This gives me:

  • Easy access quest information to the top left
    I wish the width could be narrowed down but the quest description length does not change with the width of the window.
  • Compass, time and lag information top right
  • Map top right
  • Inventory and other bars below that
  • Detailed XP / RXP information bottom right
    – It would be nice to display this on the main bar at the bottom, I am mostly interested in percentage or numbered amount. Certainly in the case of realm ranks I would like to see my current realm rank.
  • The target and floating target window built off the WoW style brings me a familiar place to look to get information.
  • The group window on the left allows me to see a quick overview of my group.

Thoughts

Groups

The game is a lot more fun playing with others instead of solo, I met a player solo in a battleground, formed a group with him to team up against the enemy and kept adding more members. I played for longer than I usually would have.

Tutorial Difficulty

The tutorial area for some classes is pretty brutal. It is designed, in my opinion to be a solo area, as with all but the Epic Encounters in the New User Journey. You can tell by the amount of graves around the zone that this isn’t the case and some classes are quite difficult to get past the first catapult camp and the final keep siege.

This I feel is because weapons aren’t made available to you until you finish the quest at the catapults.

As a Scout I had a very poor melee weapon, and no shield. As an Armsman and Infiltrator I had no ranged weapon to pull the enemy.

As a Smite Cleric my PBAOE heals triggered off my damaging abilities pulled 3 or 4 mobs in combat at the castle siege.

