My Conversion to jQuery

I have been creating websites for about 14 years, I’ve heard about different technologies during this time, and for the most part I ignore them and stay with what is familiar to me. One discussion stayed with me with another web peer who was wondering why I didn’t use jQuery to do a lot of my tasks that I run in JavaScript.

My initial reason was that I am a programmer, simple as, and I like to understand how things work, after a few years this desire has faded and the realistic speed of development is a higher priority.

To put this into context, last night I was writing a slider system for a website, and I wanted to get elements quicker, I then also wanted the divs to fade in which I could do with a simple jQuery call instead of tons of fiddly JavaScript code.

I won’t be going back to pure JavaScript.

