Dominus Closes Down

Dominus the three faction sci-fi PvP game is to close down citing financial concerns. I managed to miss this in my round-up of news post hiatus. Last week Sanya posted on the Dominus Forums, Facebook and Twitter that Dominus would be shutting down.

Twitter:

Oh dear. This is going to be awkward.

Dominus is closing down. The Facebook will remain open for goodbyes with me as a volunteer for a few days. I am so sorry….

Forums and Facebook

It is with a heavy heart that I have to say goodbye, or at least goodbye for now. We simply cannot deliver the game you deserve with the resources we have. We never quit trying, even when hope faded, because you – our community – kept us inspired.

There is a market for a game like this one. Thank you for proving it. I hope to see you again.

This forum is being switched to read-only, effective immediately. I have permission to keep the Facebook page open long enough for goodbyes, and I will hang out there (as a volunteer, not an employee) for a few days.

I am so sorry, y’all. I’ve been intentionally quiet, but I was hoping to get loud again. I will miss you all, and I know we’ll meet again.

Source

Investers / Publishers

Sanya also called out to investors/publishers in the following forum post:

Dominus is currently closed. If you are interested in investing, buying, or publishing a three faction PVP game with a proven, passionate audience, please contact us at info@pitchblackgames.com.

Kickstarter

The community rapidly called for a Kickstarter campaign, but this is not likely as the current investors most likely earn the rights to the intellectual property. This is shown in a nice little post on MMORPG.com.

Questions that are asked are:

  1. Do I Own The Rights To This Idea?
  2. Do I Have The Team?
  3. Roughly How Many People Would Support This Project?
  4. How Much Money Can I Expect To Raise?
  5. How Much Money Do I Need?
Sanya also posted on the facebook page in reply to a comment:
  So, the thing about Kickstarter: One, the sheer amount of money we’re talking about is very unlikely with Kickstarter. Two, the IP/assets belong to the investors, and they are exploring their options right now. As said before, they are good people who just aren’t made of money.
All I can say right now is “we’ll see.” I’m not technically employed at the moment, so I’m no longer empowered to speak for the company! But if this can be saved… it will be saved.

Opinion

A friend of mine in the industry called this months ago, I’m sad to finally see that he was right. 3 faction games are very near and dear to me, coming from a DAoC background and knowing how they balance out the PvP in a market of two faction games. I would have given Dominus a play, however with Guild Wars 2 on the horizon there is distraction. I do think that Dominus may yet recover, with another publisher or investor.

My first thought was that BioWare Mythic should buy the rights to this, as they are the go-to guys for PvP games. Licensing restrictions hampered Warhammer Online so I won’t hold that against them, they are showing promise with Wrath of Heroes.

