Review – Civilization V

Civilization V is the fifth game in Sid Meier’s Civilization series developed by Firaxis Games and published by 2K Games. I recently bought this from an offer on Steam recently, and finished my first play-through on a small map a few days ago and present my experiences below.

It is a turn-based strategy game, where you act as the leader of a nation and develop your civilization through the ages. You compete against computer controlled civilizations deciding victory by events such as Cultural, Military, Scientific, Diplomatic.

Good Points

  • Graphics – Things look really pretty
  • Sounds – The unit sounds and music are fantastic
  • Unit Stacking – The one military or non military unit per hex is a great addition and adds another level of strategy
  • Empire Borders – I never open my borders to anyone, I like having this barrier between people walking across my land, and is great for when I don’t want people to settle on my continent.
  • Ranged Attacks - You can attack units from a couple of squares away which is great, and vital when you can only stack one unit per hex.
  • Bombardment – From cannons, ships, aircraft and cities themselves are a great idea.
  • Victory Conditions – different ways to win are great when you want to adjust your play style
  • Combat Chance – Before you initiate combat the chance of your victory is displayed and is a great way to figure out if you want to attack or not.
  • Strategic Resources - great idea for building special units for example you need iron to build swordsmen.
  • Well Designed UI – with a main clickable action button saying Unit Orders / Production Orders / Research / Next Turn so you always know what needs to be done. Each of the main windows are well designed with status updates appearing across the right of the screen.
  • Time Filler - Hours can go past on this game really easy
  • Troop Transport – Automatic troop transport across water is a fantastic addition
  • City States – A great concept to introduce, city states are cities which are independent but will grant you benefits if you are friendly and complete their tasks. They can give you units, or food or help increase your culture.

Bad Points

  • Graphical Settings – You cannot change these options from within game, and I often forget before I load up a save, or when I’m quitting to do this.
  • Repetitive Unit Control - Can be quite repetitive when you have a load of units and you want to move them around your empire.
  • Turn Speed - Turn speed drastically slows down when you near the end of the game with the AI calculations and rendering and your own graphical lag.

Conclusion

I enjoyed this game, and yes there is some re-playability with the different civilizations, map sizes, victory conditions, the AI just isn’t that challenging and each game and combat feels the same.

Glad I played it, but with the amount of games I have at the moment I won’t be picking it up again for a while.

